About Us

In 1884, teacher and lawyer Adolphus Longshore sensed the need to promote his hometown and created Alexander City’s first newspaper, The Beacon. After changing hands a number of times, the paper was purchased in 1892 by Capt. J.D. Dickson who changed the name to The Outlook. Later, the paper was sold to Mr. Fitz. O. Hooton, who was the sole owner, editor and publisher for more than 20 years.

Boone Newspapers Inc. purchased The Outlook in 1974, and in 1991 Kenneth Boone purchased the paper from Boone Newspapers Inc. The Alexander City Outlook’s parent company is Tallapoosa Publishers Inc., which also publishes a weekly newspaper, The Dadeville Record, and two slick monthly magazines titled Lake Magazine and Lake Martin Living. In 2012, Tallapoosa Publishers Inc. purchased Price Publications Inc., expanding the portfolio to The Wetumpka Herald, The Eclectic Observer, The Tallassee Tribune, Elmore County Living & Gallery of Homes. Kenneth Boone is currently the owner and publisher for all TPI operations in Tallapoosa and Elmore counties.

The Outlook is published five days a week, Tuesday through Saturday, with an overage printed free for the community every Wednesday called The Talla-Coosa Advertiser.

Phone:
(256) 234-4281

Fax:
(256) 234-6550

Address:
548 Cherokee Road, Alexander City, AL 35010

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 999, Alexander City, AL 35011

Kenneth Boone : Publisher

Kenneth Boone

Publisher

kenneth.boone@alexcityoutlook.com
Mitch Sneed : Managing Editor

Mitch Sneed

Managing Editor

mitch.sneed@alexcityoutlook.com
Tippy Hunter : Director of Advertising

Tippy Hunter

Director of Advertising

tippy.hunter@alexcityoutlook.com
David Kendrick : Circulation Manager

David Kendrick

Circulation Manager

david.kendrick@alexcityoutlook.com
Betsy Iler : Magazine Managing Editor

Betsy Iler

Magazine Managing Editor

betsy.iler@alexcityoutlook.com
Mia Osborn : Assistant Magazine Editor

Mia Osborn

Assistant Magazine Editor

mia.osborn@alexcityoutlook.com
Angela Mullins : Bookkeeper

Angela Mullins

Bookkeeper

angela.mullins@alexcityoutlook.com
Audra Spears : Composing

Audra Spears

Composing

audra.spears@alexcityoutlook.com
Lee Champion : Production Manager

Lee Champion

Production Manager

lee.champion@alexcityoutlook.com
Kim Morse : Marketing Consultant

Kim Morse

Marketing Consultant

kim.morse@alexcityoutlook.com
Emily Guill : Marketing Consultant

Emily Guill

Marketing Consultant

emily.guill@alexcityoutlook.com
Doug Patterson : National Accounts

Doug Patterson

National Accounts

doug.patterson@alexcityoutlook.com
Robert Hudson : Sports Editor

Robert Hudson

Sports Editor

robert.hudson@alexcityoutlook.com
David Granger : Staff Writer

David Granger

Staff Writer

david.granger@alexcityoutlook.com
Cliff Williams : Staff Writer

Cliff Williams

Staff Writer

cliff.williams@alexcityoutlook.com
Linda Ewing : Circulation

Linda Ewing

Circulation

linda.ewing@alexcityoutlook.com

Editor's Picks

City Manager: Position gives city added layer of protection

Editor’s note: This is the first in a five part series on the city-manager form of government. A petition is now active asking for the ... Read more  | 1 comment

Severe weather awareness means it’s time to plan

On a day that saw 32 of its southern counties placed under a tornado watch and several severe thunderstorms set off warning alarms in the ... Read more

OUR VIEW: City needs to implement a city manager form of government

Most residents believe Alexander City is not professionally managed. We believe the problem is that our decision makers are not advised and supported by a ... Read more