Archived Story

Founder’s Day to honor locals

Published 10:38am Saturday, March 9, 2013

The Central Alabama Club of the National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs will hold their 12th anniversary Founder’s Day celebration Saturday from 2 to 6 p.m. at the Bledsoe Family Community Center.

Susie Davis, first vice president of the organization, said the Central Alabama Club is just one chapter of the nationwide group.

“Our group is just one of eight states in Southeast,” said “Each year we honor people in the community who have had outstanding work because of fundraisers, community service and their employment. We try to honor them to let people know that these people are available to them.”

Davis said the 12th annual celebration will honor several community members who have made a difference, including former Alexander City mayor Barbara Young, Dr. Runas Powers and Kathleen Spradley.

“We selected Mrs. Young (to be our Lifetime Achievement Award winner) because of her many years of service to city,” Davis said. “She’s just a great person and does wonderful community service.”

Davis said Powers will receive the CAC Man of the Year Award for his efforts in community service.

“We chose Dr. Powers because of his humanitarian work for city, for his patience and for his tremendous community service,” Davis said. “He’s very giving, and we wanted to show our appreciation.”

Kathleen Spradley will receive the Sojourner Truth Award, the highest award the club can bestow, Davis said.

“That is the highest award we can give anyone for their service,” Davis said.

Davis said Spradley is being honored for her work as the president of the Southeast Early Rose District Baptist Church.

“Kathleen is very active in Southeast district, which contains 28 churches. Any woman’s program in the district goes through her,” Davis said. “It’s a full time job and a lot of responsibility.”

Other award winners will also be recognized at the celebration including the Rev. Robert Strickland, Samuel Bledsoe, the Rev. Oress O. Shelton, Elzia G. Shelton, Undrea Coley, Aisha Davis and Kimberlin Steele.

Davis said youth scholarships will also be presented to Cadory Edwards and Denisha Glenn.

Donations requested for adults will be $20 and children will be $10.

The buffet reception will be held from 4:30-6 p.m., and takeout is available.

“Last year we didn’t have a luncheon, so this year we’ll be honoring people that were selected from last year as well as this year.”

Davis said registration will be available at the door, and she encourages all members of the community to come out and show their support for the award winners.

For more information, contact Davis at 256-329-1595.