Archived Story

County BOE begins search for career tech instructors

Published 3:03pm Wednesday, February 13, 2013

The Tallapoosa County Board of Education is one step closer to opening the Edward Bell Career Technical Center.

The board approved the job descriptions for a welding instructor and a health science teacher, which means the jobs can now be posted.

“We are now in the process of posting those jobs and looking at hiring for those two positions,” said Joe Windle, superintendent.  “I feel confident that we will find qualified individuals to fill these two positions. We are excited about the career technical center – it is on track and we still plan to open Aug. 19.”

The board also made some changes to the job description for a maintenance supervisor.

“We were looking to add three or four specific qualifications to be included in our job description for maintenance supervisor,” Windle said.

The board approved increasing the preferred educational level from high school diploma to two-year degree or better preferred.

Windle said the board also wanted a candidate with experience working with budgets and commercial building projects.

“Even if you have a cursory knowledge of electrical systems, plumbing and HVAC, you might not understand all the commercial requirements,” Windle said.

The board also passed resolutions recognizing teachers of the year and the athletic accomplishments of local students.

The board recognized Dadeville Elementary School’s Wendy Beck as teacher of the year for her school and the entire system. Maribeth Farr was honored as teacher of the year for Dadeville High School, while Deanna Jennings claimed the honor for Councill Middle School.

Horseshoe Bend and Reeltown schools both nominated two teachers of the year each. At HBS, Ronda Boyd was recognized as elementary teacher of the year and Kim Vickers was named secondary teacher of the year. Reeltown’s Leah Solomon was recognized as elementary teacher of the year and Andy Chamness was named secondary teacher of the year.

The board also recognized local athletes Rod Crayton, Kaleb Beck, Terry Toler, Anfernee Jennings, Tywone Stewart, Jayson Stephens, Hestavia Norris, Ariko Stewart and Luke Holt.

These athletes earned honors from the Alabama Sports Writers’ Association for various All-State teams, in addition to helping lead their teams to the playoffs.