Archived Story

Candidates qualify for New Site, Goodwater races

Published 3:34pm Tuesday, July 24, 2012

The town of New Site and the city of Goodwater announced their final lists of qualifying candidates for the Aug. 28 municipal election.

Qualifying closed Tuesday, July 17.

New Site


- Curtis Mims

Council Seat 1

- Mickey Carter

Council Seat 2

- Michael East

Council Seat 3

- Thomas Turner

Council Seat 4

- Linda Meadows

Council Seat 5

- Barry Clark




- Lonnie Caldwell

- Ida “Harrell” James

- William “Rodney” Jones

- James Genovis Whetstone

Council Seat 1

- Gregory J. Crayton

Council Seat 2

- Robert E. Edwards

- Ashley M. Hoytt

Council Seat 3

- Michael B. Kelley

Council Seat 4

- John E. Kelley

Council Seat 5

- Sharon M. Hawkins

- Malcon Strong


Editor's Picks

Abbett is a great resource for the area

OUR VIEW The Outlook this week featured a story on the official beginning of the sixth term in Office by Tallapoosa County Sheriff Jimmy Abbett. ... Read more

Kilgore ‘all aboard’ for holiday fun

  Rodney Kilgore has spent the last four years portraying popular railroad conductors. For most of the year, he wears striped overalls and goes to ... Read more